Journal class

Recognized higher education students | Local News

PIATT COUNTY – Several high school and college students in Piatt County have recently been recognized by their institutions.

University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Jackson Grambart of Monticello, is among 43 new freshmen selected to join the Nebraska Business Honors Academy at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln this fall. Grambart intends to specialize in accounting.

Cohorts complete most of their core and core curriculum together using an action-based learning style focused on developing critical thinking, technical, and communication skills.

Millikin University

Millikin University has announced the names of outstanding undergraduate students who have been named to the Dean’s List for the Spring 2022 semester.

Students who attempt 12 graded credits in a fall or spring semester and achieve a grade point average of 3.5 or higher earn Dean’s List honors. Students achieving a perfect 4.00 grade point average over 12 graded credits have attempted to earn Dean’s List honors.

Area students include Rye Johnson from Weldon, Colton Middleton from Lovington, Brandy Adams from Monticello, Kendra Barbee from Monticello, Grace Talbert from Monticello, Calvin Fisher from Monticello, Marcus Vanausdoll from Arthur and Brenden Flannell from Mansfield.

Millikin University is a private, comprehensive university with a diverse student population of approximately 2,200 undergraduate and graduate students. Millikin is located in Decatur.

Augustana College

Augustana College, Rock Island, held its commencement ceremony on Sunday, May 22. US Senator Dick Durbin delivered the speech. The promotion amounted to 508.

Among the graduates who participated in the ceremony was Faith Rund of Monticello, who was recognized with a major in teaching Spanish.

Coe College

Coe College recognizes its top-performing students as members of the Dean’s List, including Mary Russell, who is currently part of this elite group.

Russell, of Monticello, has been named to the prestigious 2022 Spring Dean’s List at The Coe in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

The college recognized only 116 students for the Spring 2022 term.

To be named to the Dean’s List, a student must achieve at least a 3.5 grade point average for the term and rank in the top 10% of the student body.

Coe College is located in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

Illinois Wesleyan University

Illinois Wesleyan University honored more than 400 graduate candidates at the May 1, 2022 launch. Among the graduates was Emma Helferich of Monticello, Magna Cum Laude, who majored in marketing.