Journal list

Derry Journal People of the Year Awards 2022: And the finalists are…

Below is the confirmed list of finalists for the Derry Journal People of the Year Awards 2022, sponsored by BetMcLean.

The awards ceremony will take place on Thursday 1 September at the Everglades Hotel in Derry.

The awards were started by local businessman, the late Martin McCrossan, to recognize the often unsung heroes of our Northwestern communities, and we are proud to carry on the tradition in his memory.

Launching the awards earlier this year was then Mayor Graham Warke and representatives from the Derry Journal and some of the award sponsors from Ulster University, Derry City Airport, Bet McLean, The ‘APEX, Alchemy, Specsavers and Derry City & Strabane District Council. Photography: George Sweeney. DER2223GS-075

Thank you to all of the sponsors and nominators and the wider community who help us make the awards possible.

Good luck to all the finalists and if your name is here then you have already made an incredibly positive impact in our community and your industry.

Jenni Doherty, Little Acorns Bookstore

Joanne Nash, the sober trainer

John Harkin, Alchemy Technology Services

Michael Mc Daid, Pro Recovery

Natasha Simpson, Adoire and Eden

Caregiver of the Year (sponsored by Apex)

Charity Person of the Year

Geraldine Mullan – Mullan HOPE Center (Hub Of Positive Energy)

Jennifer Taylor, Bright Light Contest

Michael Lynch, Men’s Action Network

Natasha Wilde and Michael McCullagh

Community Champion Award – Group

River Radio Youth Community Radio Station

The Fashion & Textile Design Center

Community Champion Award – Individual (Sponsored by Apex)

Amie Gallagher, Focus Project Derry

Geraldine Mullan, Mullan HOPE Center

Derry City and Strabane District Council

Inspirational Educator Award (Sponsored by Ulster University)

Gary Hetherington, Strabane Academy

Michael O Callaghan, St Patrick’s College, Dungiven

Ms Lynn Kelly, St Mary’s College

Inspirational Young Person (sponsored by Derry City Airport)

Outstanding Bravery Award

Sportsman of the Year (sponsored by Bet McLean)

Steelstown Brian Ogs Senior Men

Volunteer of the Year (sponsored by Alchemy)